How to place advertisements on Toutiao?

How to place advertisements on Toutiao?

How to place ads on Toutiao?

Advertising Process

The complete advertising process includes account structure planning, creation of advertising groups and advertising plans, advertising delivery, report analysis and advertising optimization .

Account structure planning

An advertising account is divided into three parts: advertising group , advertising plan , and advertising creative .

Headline ads support multiple creative functions, which means you can use multiple creatives for one advertising plan and choose whether to place them in multiple advertising positions.

Create different ad groups according to different promotion goals, and then create different advertising plans according to different product services, different materials or targeting.

For example: if you want to promote a financial product, you need to collect user leads on the one hand and promote this financial app on the other. Then you can create two advertising groups: landing page and app download. The landing page advertising group obtains user leads by filling out forms, while the app download advertising group focuses on increasing app downloads. Then build different plans according to different material categories or different targeting methods.

Create an ad group

Click "Create New Ad Group" to enter the ad group creation page

Select the promotion purpose , according to the product or service you are promoting.

Set your ad group budget and ad group name

Click " Save and Continue " to complete the ad group creation and enter the ad plan creation page

Select the purpose of promotion

Ad groups support three promotion purposes: app downloads , landing pages , and article promotions.

Promotional purpose classification

Set your ad group budget and name

Set the ad group budget amount: Set an unlimited budget or a specified budget amount based on the customer's budget requirements

Set the ad group name: Set the ad group name in a unified format according to the promotion purpose, promotion location, and promotion category to facilitate unified management of ad groups

Note: Once the budget method is selected, it cannot be changed;

The ad group budget setting cannot be less than 100 yuan; the budget amount adjustment cannot be less than 100 yuan each time;

The budget operation cannot be modified more than 5 times within 24 hours;

The modified budget amount cannot be less than 115% of the current consumption amount, rounded up to the nearest hundred. For example, if 5,500 yuan has been consumed on the day, the minimum budget amount to be adjusted is 5,500*115% = 6,325, rounded up to 6,400 yuan. If the modified budget amount is less than 6,400 yuan, the system will prompt: The current minimum planned budget is set to 6,400 yuan, please reset it.

The ad group name can be between 1 and 100 characters long, and no more than 50 Chinese characters.

Create an advertising plan

After the ad group settings are completed, click " Save and Continue " to enter the ad plan creation interface.

You can create a new advertising plan in the following ways:

① Set download links, landing page links or enter articles: According to the promotion purpose, app download ads need to set download links, landing page ads need to set landing page links, and article ads need to enter articles.

②Set the audience for advertising: You can select the audience range for advertising by targeting by region, gender, age, interest, etc.

③Set advertising budget and bid: Set daily budget or total budget for advertising plan, set bid

④Set plan name: Set a name for the advertising plan

⑤ Click "Save and Continue" to complete the creation of the advertising plan and enter the advertising creative creation page. You can create a new advertising plan in the following ways.

Set download link, landing page link or enter article

According to different promotion purposes, links with different functions need to be set. Headline ads also require article entry. According to different promotion purposes, links with different functions need to be set. Headline ads also require article entry.

Set download link (app download ad)

To create a campaign under the app download ad group, you need to set the download link and platform.

Enter the Android (apk) download link, and the system will automatically identify the application package and download platform (if the application package cannot be automatically identified, please fill it in manually): Create a plan under the app download ad group, and you need to set the download link and platform. Enter the Android (apk) download link, the system will automatically identify the application package and download platform (if the application package cannot be automatically identified, please fill it in manually):

Enter the appstore direct link, the system will automatically identify it as an IOS link (short link jump is not supported). Enter the appstore direct link, the system will automatically identify it as an IOS link (short link jump is not supported).

Set up landing page link (landing page advertising)

To create a landing page advertising plan under a landing page advertising group, you need to set a landing page link.

TIP: You can provide the landing page link for activities or product promotions yourself, or use the website building tools provided by the platform to create an H5 page.

Set up article (headline article advertisement)

To create an article advertising plan under the article advertising group, you need to enter articles. You can enter articles manually or choose to automatically include articles in the headlines.

Select Toutiao to automatically collect articles, and directly fill in the URL address of the Toutiao article to get the Toutiao ID. Select Toutiao to automatically collect articles, and directly fill in the URL address of the Toutiao article to get the Toutiao ID.

Set up your ad audience

Select the audience range for advertising, and choose targeting based on region, gender, age, interests, etc. Select the audience range for advertising, and choose targeting based on region, gender, age, interests, etc.

Audience Targeting Introduction

User region: Toutiao's regional positioning is obtained by weighting factors such as the user's current GPS, IP, historical city, server address, etc. This positioning method is more accurate than simple IP positioning.

You can select provinces, cities, districts and counties to target specific audiences.

User gender and age : Determine the user's gender and age through their usage behavior and the attributes of the articles they read, and target them to a specific gender or age group. User gender and age: Determine the user's gender and age through their usage behavior and the attributes of the articles they read, and target them to a specific gender or age group.

Interest categories:

Target audiences who are interested in content on certain topics. The more interest tags you have, the more audiences you can reach. Each group of people can have multiple interest categories, and the proportion of other interests will be displayed during audience analysis.

Audience interest keywords:

Target audiences who are interested in specified content or specific events, as a supplement to coarser-grained interests, with finer granularity than interest classification.

At the same time, check the interest keywords, and when delivering the content, it will be delivered to people who have the keywords in the interest category. Interests are stable, but keywords are updated more frequently.

Mobile platform and network targeting: Targeting the user’s mobile operating system platform and the network environment used when the ad is viewed. Mobile platform and network targeting: Targeting the user’s mobile operating system platform and the network environment used when seeing the ad.

1. How much are you willing to spend on this ad every day? Budget

What is a budget? A budget is how much you plan to spend on your advertising over a certain period of time. So how does budget affect ad display? Let me give you two examples.

1. Uncle Wang and Aunt Zhang both went to the fruit store to buy apples. The better apples are 15 yuan per pound, and there is 1 pound left in total. The inferior apples are 7 yuan per pound, and there are 5 pounds left in total. Aunt Zhang has only 20 yuan on him, and Uncle Wang has 50 yuan. Question: Who can spend all the money today, Aunt Zhang or Uncle Wang?

2. Xiao Wang and Xiao Zhang both received the task of distributing flyers. Xiao Wang earns 100 yuan a day and needs to distribute 1,000 flyers in a day. Xiao Zhang earns 50 yuan a day and only needs to distribute 500 flyers in a day. Question: If they both complete the task, who will distribute the flyers faster, Xiao Wang or Xiao Zhang?

Different audiences have different acquisition costs, and their consumption rates are affected by budgets at different rates. If the budget is too low, the system will impose certain restrictions on ad exposure to protect the effectiveness of the promotion, thereby preventing the ad from being taken offline prematurely due to budget exhaustion. Only by setting an appropriate budget can you achieve the goal of advertising exposure.

Q: To test the effectiveness of my ad, can I set the lowest budget allowed?

Answer: Invest as much as your minimum budget allows, without considering your actual click and conversion costs. Such a setting is unscientific. Because if the conversion rate is low and the conversion cost is high, the following situations may occur:

1. If you bid on CPM, the competitiveness of CPM during bidding is basically equal to the bid. There is no control over the click-through rate and the number of times the same ad is displayed to a single customer. Therefore, 100 yuan may only reach a few hundred customers. Placing an advertisement is like throwing a needle into the vast ocean, which cannot create any waves.

2. If you bid on CPC, the competitiveness of CPC depends on the bid and estimated click-through rate. So you may encounter a situation like the first example at the beginning, where the click-through rates and costs per click vary greatly among different audiences. You may only get dozens of clicks, and there will still be some budget left in the end.

3. If you invest in oCPC, the competitiveness of oCPC depends on three factors: bid, estimated click-through rate and estimated conversion rate. Your product conversion cost has a great impact on the effectiveness of oCPC. If your conversion cost is low, a high conversion rate is OK. If the conversion cost of your product has reached 50 yuan each, and you only set a budget of 100 yuan, then maybe 2 conversions will be completed. Moreover, the oCPC system will help you try out different users, find those who are willing to convert, and then learn what kind of people will be more effective next time you invest. So it is also possible that the 100 has been spent and the system has not found the right person yet.

So is it true that the higher the advertising budget, the better? This can be calculated based on your conversion cost and conversion volume goals.

If your conversion goal T is 20 per day, the conversion rate CVR is 5% (so 20 conversions require 20/5%=400 clicks), the click-through rate CTR is 2% (so 400 clicks require 20,000 impressions), and your targeted customer CPM fluctuates between 12-20, which means that 1,000 impressions require 10-20 yuan to purchase. Here, if we take a safe value of 20 yuan, then if you want to achieve your 20 conversion goals, you need to set a budget of 20*(20,000/1,000)=400 yuan.

Budget = (T/CVR/CTR/1000)*audience CPM

T is the conversion target. It is recommended that this value be high at first and then low, so that the system can accumulate your advertising users and achieve better results.

2. Who do you want to advertise to? Audience

The following are some of the common ways in which audiences influence advertising:

1. The audience is too narrow: If your audience is small, and you need to participate in bidding, your ads cannot be delivered unless you bid high. However, if the quality of the population is very high (for example, the population is defined using a DMP) and you want to ensure exposure, you can try CPM, prioritizing exposure rather than conversion rate - however, this only applies to situations where high-quality populations have been defined.

2. The audience is too broad: This situation has a relatively indirect impact on exposure, and now Toutiao already has intelligent delivery methods such as oCPC and CPA, so the impact is not significant. If you use ordinary CPC and the audience is too broad, you may target unsuitable people (either the cost per click is too high, or no one clicks on it). The system will then determine that your ad is not effective based on this initial performance and reduce the amount of advertising you place. If you must use CPC, it is recommended to create multiple advertising groups and target different audiences separately.

3. Too much audience overlap: This reason is the most common, but the easiest to be overlooked. The most common situation is that multiple advertising plans are delivered to the same audience segment at the same time. In this way, the system will avoid duplicate delivery and give priority to delivering ads with higher budgets or bids. It is recommended to divert customers and deliver different advertisements to different audiences, prescribe the right medicine for the right disease, and spend every penny wisely.

Question: An e-commerce client uses APP name targeting and has two advertising plans that simultaneously run on the same three APPs. It also uses different advertising creatives, but still finds that the advertising volume for both plans is relatively small and the cost is increasing. Why?

This is because the three apps cover too small a population, so a large part of the population of the two ads actually overlaps. In order to compete for this part of the population, the two ads will raise their bids against each other. Unless you are doing testing and need to make multiple plans for segmented targeting at the same time, it is recommended not to invest in this way for the sake of increasing volume.

3. What is the maximum price you are willing to pay to acquire users? Bidding

Everyone knows that bidding too low will result in the ad not being delivered, but how low is too low? In fact, in bidding, in addition to the price, the bidding method also has a great impact on advertising delivery.

Advertisers often report that they cannot release volume during Double Eleven or major promotions, while many customers have a certain amount of consumption tasks. At this time, experienced advertisers, in addition to branding, will also choose the CPM method to increase the volume in addition to the regular oCPC and CPC bidding. Because CPM does not consider the click-through rate, it is relatively easy to compete during bidding. Generally speaking, some exposure can be obtained, but the quality of the audience is still not as good as CPC and oCPC. After all, there is no consideration of click-through rate and conversion rate factors.

However, for general advertising, we still recommend using oCPC bidding, because oCPC is optimized according to your conversion target cost, and you can also customize this conversion target. Download, install and activate, submit forms, make phone calls, etc. Using CPC or CPM may make it easier for you to place ads, but the people who see your ads may not be the most likely to convert, so your conversion costs may not be good.

However, when using oCPC, you need to pay attention to the scale and conversion rate, because the system needs enough learning opportunities to understand what kind of audience it is.

Question: A client launched oCPC and found that the actual activation cost was higher than the target set, and the number of conversions was very small, and he could not run the campaign anymore after just a few days. What is the reason for this? How should it be solved?

This is because the cost target you set is much lower than the actual achievable cost, and the system has difficulty finding users who meet the standards. It is recommended to refer to the actual delivery cost of the first phase when setting the target cost. Do not set it too low at once, as this will easily lead to no delivery.

4. What kind of advertisement is shown - creative materials

If there are no problems with the above three points, then it is very likely that the reason why the proposal was not submitted is because of a lack of creativity. After all, creativity is the entry point for products to reach users. It seriously affects the estimated click-through rate and estimated conversion rate during bidding. If these two values ​​are relatively low, both CPC and oCPC will be adversely affected.

It is strongly recommended to refer to the quality score currently given by Toutiao in the plan list. This is an indicator calculated based on the estimated click-through rate of the advertisement. You can use it to determine whether the estimated click-through rate of your advertisement is abnormal and whether further optimization is needed.

Q: What should I do if my creative has a high post-test CTR, but the quality score is very low and my ad cannot be delivered? Why does this phenomenon occur?

If the quality score of an idea is very low, it means that the average estimated click-through rate of the idea for this audience is actually relatively low. Why is the a posteriori click-through rate high? This is because the people to whom the ads can be delivered are selected from the group with a low estimated click-through rate. After the ads are displayed to this group of people, some of them click on the ads, resulting in a high post-test click-through rate. It's like trying to make a short person taller. This may happen because the audience the advertisement is targeting is not highly compatible with the creative idea, and only 10 out of 10,000 people have a relatively high estimated click-through rate that can gain competitive opportunities. By making appropriate adjustments, you can set more popular creative ideas for the people you have targeted, and avoid making them too niche.

The above is limited to the situation where the ad cannot be delivered. If the delivery volume is acceptable, but the posterior is high and the quality is low, it is actually quite normal. This shows that creativity plays a certain role in screening the crowd during the delivery process.

So what kind of creativity is a good idea? In this regard, Toutiao Girl has already provided some answers in previous articles. Those who are interested can reply “creativity” in the background to learn more details.

5. Other influencing factors - delivery time and delivery location

The points mentioned above are the main factors. In addition, the time period and location of advertising also have a certain impact on advertising exposure.

Advertising delivery time: The traffic curve of information flow is different from that of search, and the number of users in different time periods of the day will fluctuate to a greater or lesser extent. For Toutiao, the number of users is generally larger during this period in the evening, so if you need to get more delivery volume, don’t miss this peak time of Toutiao. For other delivery periods, you can refer to the conversion rate of the advertisement, conduct time-divided testing, and increase the bid during high-quality time periods with better conversions.

Ad placement: It is a booster for ad display. In addition to information flow, Toutiao can also place ad details pages and jokes. These two are potential ad positions for Toutiao. Headline details page ads appear at the end of the headline article content and above the comments. At present, the competitive environment is still relatively small, and we can also choose article targeting based on the content of the article. For example, if I want to place an advertisement for clothing, I can choose to place an advertisement under the fashion category, which will have a higher relevance. In addition, joke ads are also a potential position, mainly displayed in the information flow of the Neihan Jokes APP. This APP is mainly used by male users. Compared with Toutiao, it also adds a dynamic image advertising style. It has now become a must-have for most game customers.

Related reading:

1. How to set up advertising accounts for Toutiao, Guangdiantong, etc.!

2. With today’s headlines advertising, how to plan creative advertising for the wedding industry?

3. The process of setting up a Toutiao information flow advertising account!

4. Get the operation guide of Toutiao game advertising quickly!

5. Comprehensive inventory of Toutiao products and practical sharing of strategy optimization!

6. Creative material styles for Toutiao’s high-conversion information flow ads!

Author: Miao Laoshi

Source: Jianshu

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